Welcome, Hi, Hello

Erm, welcome to my blog? I’m going to write about books and reading and life, and maybe someone might enjoy it.

To start with, a little bit about myself:

My name is Cait, I live in a small village in Yorkshire and I recently graduated from university with a Music degree. Before university, I read an unhealthy amount, but the past three years have been too busy and stressful for me to really get into a book. Now that I’m living a fairly mundane graduate life, I’m back into reading (yay). I mainly read in the bath.

My taste in genres varies. Right now, I’m really into thrillers, particularly those of the psychological variety that seem so popular at the moment following the success of Gone Girl (more on that later). I am also a big fan of historical fiction, mainly set in the 20th Century and have a mild obsession with both world wars and the Soviet Union. Having said that, I am happy to read anything in the general ‘Fiction’ section of the bookshop. I tend to take my recommendations either from friends or Goodreads. I also like to read books that have recently been adapted to film, without ruining it and seeing the film of course. Something tells me that the book must be at least half decent if someone thought it’d make a good film.

I get annoyed with the limitations of a 5 star rating system so I’m going to try to come up with some sort of other system. Maybe with words rather than numbers. Maybe just out of 10. Or 100. I’m not sure yet.

I’m going to talk about books I’ve read, books I’d like to read and maybe even books I wouldn’t like to read. I’ll probably use the next few posts to vent a few things, which is the main reason I started this blog. I’m also going to try to keep a Currently Reading thread going, giving updates of where I am in a book and my thoughts up to that point.

Maybe people are reading this – if you are, hello! I hope you’ll carry on reading what ever I come up with.

Leave a Reply

