Review – Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller

This is one of the best books I’ve read in a while. So close to being perfect, I absolutely adored every page.

Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller tells the story of an eight year old girl, Peggy, who is kidnapped by her father and taken to live in a cabin in far away European forest. She is told that they are the only two people left on Earth, and there is nothing but the Great Divide, an endless black space, beyond the forest.

img_0173

This book is haunting, sinister and unsettling. Fuller’s language and description is beautiful. She fills the reader’s head with magical imagery and gives the book a fairy tale quality. It explores the relationship between father and daughter, as well as between mother and daughter in a way. It also has themes of mental health, childhood naivety and trust.

I spent longer on this book than I have on any other recently, despite it being under 300 pages long. I spent the entire time with an uneasy feeling in my stomach. This book is weird and unbelievably thought-provoking. I don’t want to give any spoilers here because I’d rather people just go and read it for themselves. The story hints at things throughout that are only half confirmed at the end.

I can imagine this book becoming an A Level English set text in 50 years time. There is so much to analyse and question. Nothing is entirely clear and that is part of the beauty of it. Both writing and storytelling is exquisite.

For reasons I’m not entirely sure about, I’m rating this book 9/10 – Almost There. My only criticism is the lack of progression in the middle section. It seems to skip several years in a couple of pages, whereas I feel there could have been another 50 pages, perhaps with another event half way through their stay in the forest.

Despite that, I will be recommending this book to anyone that asks. Please, go and read it!

9/10 – Almost There

8 thoughts on “Review – Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller

  1. Pingback: End of Year Review

Leave a Reply

