The Reader Problems Tag

I was recently tagged in this by my friend Juliet on her blog Not Capulet. Everyone go and follow her, she writes about books and other good stuff.

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How on earth do you decide what to read next?

I really do have too many books on my TBR shelf on Goodreads. I try really hard to limit what I put on there, because I really do want to read everything on the list. I try to order them, so the ones I know I’m going to read soon go straight to the top, with ones that I like the sound of but aren’t in any rush to go out and buy being further down. I tend to chose books that both sound great and have good reviews. I tend to read new releases, rather than old books, so I use the charts for recommendations. In total, I probably have about 20 books on there that I know I’m going to read soon.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

This used to be a big problem for me. I give up too easily and I think I’ve probably missed out on a few great books that I just couldn’t get into in the first few chapters. I’ve made it one of my reading goals this year to not give up on a book. I’m 15 books into the year, and although there’s been a couple that I couldn’t wait to finish, I’ve managed to stick through everything. That’s a real achievement for me.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re close yet so far away on your GoodReads challenge. Do you quit or commit?

I’m the type of person who gets really disappointed if I don’t complete any kind of challenge. That being said, I’ve never actually finished a Goodreads challenge, but i’m hoping I finally will this year. I’ve set myself a modest goal of 25 book and have read 15 already. If I get to 22 or 23 and I’ve still got a few months left, I’ll probably change it to something higher.

4. The covers of a series you love do not match. How do you cope?

This makes me really sad. I love to have all my books matching and looking beautiful on my shelf. I would never go out and buy another copy of a book I already own, but I’ll always search for the same cover when buying the next in the series. This is the same for books by the same author, even if they’re not in a series. I also never buy hardback books because they will look odd on my bookshelf. I like everything to be the same size.

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

I am definitely the kind of person who finds lots of books really overrated, but I usually share this with both Juliet (who tagged me in this post – double shout out!) and my mum. We all have really similar book tastes and like to rant about how bad books such as The Fault in Our Stars by John Green is (or anything by John Green for that matter), or One Day by David Nicholls. I’m also now using this blog to rant about stuff like that. i find it so much easier to write about things I don’t like than things I do.

6. You’re reading a book and you’re about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

This happens too often. I read on trains a lot and have found it’s best just to let it all out. Hopefully there’ll be nobody sat next to me, but if there is, who cares! I’m clearly too engrossed in whatever book I’m reading to stop.

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a summary on GoodReads? Cry in frustration?

I don’t re-read books very often. The only exception to this rule is Harry Potter and The Hunger Games. I can read any book from either series in a day and I re-read them a lot during university when i really struggled to focus on anything new. For any other book, I’ll just find a summary, usually on Goodreads or Wikipedia.

8. You don’t want anyone borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people ‘nope’ when they ask?

I don’t lend books out very often because most of the books I read are ones that I’ve borrowed myself. I’d only lend them to people I know would give them back. That doesn’t really answer the question, but I’d probably say yes and then just keep ‘forgetting’ to bring it for them.

9. You’ve picked up and put down five different books in the past month. How do you get over the reading slump?

By just diving in. I’ve just finished a 3 year reading slump and I forced myself to start reading again by reading something easy. The first thing I read this year was Six Days in Leningrad by Paulina Simons. It’s an account of the research trip she did before writing my favourite book series The Bronze Horseman, so naturally I was really interested. It also helped that it was non-fiction, written in a memoir style, so it was really easy to read. I then moved onto The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne, a book I’ve wanted to read for a long time. Again, it’s really easy to read because it is written as a children’s book, and it’s very short. After this I was hooked back in and haven’t looked back.

10. There are so many new books coming out that you are dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

I have bought quite a few recently, probably around 10 this year. I’m now waiting for my birthday at the end of this month, as I do have a limited budget. I have quite a lengthy Amazon Wishlist, so I’ll hopefully receive a few things from there; enough to keep me going for a while!

11. After you’ve bought a new book you want to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you actually read them?

Not too long. It depends how many books are in the queue before it. I have a pile under my bed, all in order of which is going to be read next. Of course, if I win a Goodreads Giveaway (I won another one yesterday by the way, I’m on a roll!), I’ll read it as soon as it arrives and I’ve finished whatever I’m reading at the time. It also depends what I’m in the mood for. I often buy a few different books at the same time, so if I’ve just finished a thriller, I’ll probably read some historical fiction next.

 

Leave a Reply

