Monthly Round Up – April

This has been my first month of actually having a blog, so I can’t really compare it to anything else, but I’ll try to do a summary of what I’ve read this month and how I feel about it. I’ve read four books this month and it’s been a very mixed bunch. The books I have read are:

  1. The Passenger by Lisa Lutz – 7/10 Something Missing
  2. Lexington and 42nd by Kim Carmody – 5/10 Begrudgingly Finished
  3. Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller – 9/10 Almost There
  4. The Revenant by Michael Punke – 6/10 Alright

They’ve all been completely different in genre, style, subject matter, and level of enjoyment. It’s also been quite a slow month for me. I think my mad reading rush is tailing off and I’m finally starting to settle into full reading enjoyment, rather than just reading as many as I can. I’m not spending every hour of every day reading anymore and that’s probably a good thing for my sanity. I am reading every day for at least an half an hour though, reading about 30 pages a day. Although it is nice to sit and read a book in a couple of days, which I did for both The Passenger and Lexington and 42nd, but I do like the level of deeper understanding you get by taking your time with a book.

My favourite book of the month, by far, has been Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller. It was so different to anything I’ve ever read before and I adored it. It somehow managed to hover between the realms of fairy tale and reality due to Fuller’s magical prose and beautiful descriptions. Also, look how pretty the cover is!

img_0173

I’m currently reading The End Game by Raymond Khoury, which I won on Goodreads Giveaways. I’m enjoying it so far, although I’m struggling slightly with the begining due to it being the fifth in a series that I’ve never even heard of, never mind read. I was assured by other reviews that this wouldn’t be an issue, and they were right. I’m just over a third of the way through and I’m really getting into it. This is the first book in a while that has evoked a verbal reaction, and that I’ve just had to read another chapter. It’s really gripping and the characters are great, I can see that it’s only going to get better. I think I’ll be buying the first four books in the series after I’ve finished.

img_0202

The next books on my TBR shelf are

  1. When the Doves Disappeared by Sofi Oksanen.
  2. The Bones of You by Debbie Howells.
  3. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.
  4. The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey
  5. Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith
  6. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

It’s unlikely I’ll read all of these in May, but I hope I’ll get through at least three of them. I only have copies of the first two at the moment, but I’ll be borrowing Me Before You and The Snow Child later on in the month, and I’m hoping for the last two for my birthday at the end of May. After my birthday, I’ll be doing to holiday reads round-up, ready for my holiday in June. I’m going to a tiny, quiet Greek island for a week and hope to cram in as much uninterrupted reading as I can.

I also won another Goodreads Giveaway this week, The Ghosts of Nagasaki by Daniel Clausen, which won’t be arriving until 20th June. It sounds really interesting; I’m not really sure what genre it is, or what it’s going to be about, but I’m excited to read it.

If you would like to look at my Goodreads page, it’s here.

 

One thought on “Monthly Round Up – April

Leave a Reply

