Currently Reading

This is a slow process and I’m not sure why. The End Game by Raymond Khoury is gripping and exciting, yet there’s something missing. I’m over two weeks in and I’m only about two thirds in. I’m enjoying it, I really am, I just can’t seem to read more than about 25 pages at a time. While I’m reading it, I really enjoy it, but I get to the end of a chapter and aren’t really that bothered about carrying on.

img_0202

I think my main issue so far, is that there isn’t really a ‘whodunit’ element to the story. I really want there to be a big twist, but I’m not sure it’s going to come. Instead, the story is plodding along and we are simply trusting in the main character, Sean Reilly, to have figured out what happened by the end of the book. There isn’t much of a struggle, or any doubt that he won’t figure it out; the events are just gradually unfolding, bit by bit.

Having said that, the story is a good one. The characters are all really likeable; it’s well written and easy to follow. I’m just not overwhelmed by it yet. It covers issues of corruption in the CIA, making you wonder whether it may be based on a morsel of truth. It’s also a very modern, and I’d like to think, rather realistic crime novel. The things people are able to do with computers is astounding, and the information they can find is actually quite frightening. I think this is one of the main positives of the book. It really makes you wonder how this sort of technology is used in real life.

Overall, I’m looking forward to finishing this book. I’ve got a free weekend ahead of me, so I’m planning on getting through as much as I can. I just want to read a book that makes me want to rush home from work to read it. I haven’t felt that with this book at all, and that’s a shame.

I do have a few books to look forward to though. I’ve just been given an advanced copy of My Husband’s Wife by Jane Corry, courtesy of NetGalley. It’s due to be released in August this year and it’s one I’ve been trying to win on Goodreads Giveaways for a while, so I’m really excited to read it. I think this will be my next read.

I also won another Goodreads Giveaway this week, The First Days of August by Alan Froning. It looks like some kind of medical thriller, which I’ve read before in Ken Follett’s Whiteout, and really enjoyed. It’s not arrived yet, and neither has my last win, The Ghosts of Nagasaki by Daniel Clausen. This one sounds really different from anything I’ve ever read before, so I’m excited to read it. Just from the synopsis, I haven’t managed to figure out exactly what genre it is, or what it’s really about, but the other reviews assure me that it’s very good, so we’ll see.

I’ve also still got about four books waiting under my bed, so I’ve got plenty to look forward to. I think that is the main problem I’m having with Goodreads Giveaways. I never seem to win the books I really want to, instead I’m winning the books that just look alright and might surprise me. I’ve started to enter just ones that I know I’m going to enjoy, but I think that’s going to lower my chances of winning. Having said that, the offerings this week haven’t been great, so that might be why I’ve not entered as many as usual.

Hopefully, I’ll report back soon with a full, finished review of The End Game.

Leave a Reply

