Birthday Books

It was my birthday last Thursday (yay!) and due to weekend celebrations, I’ve only just had chance to write this post. I received five books as gifts, and then went out to Waterstones and somehow managed to buy three more.My only problem now, is that I’m drowning in thrillers. The books I received as gifts are:

  1. We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver (A gift from my bestie Juliet – Not Capulet) – This is a book I’ve wanted to read for a really long time. I think I’m reserving it for post holiday, as I think it will take me a while to get through.img_0271
  2. Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith – After loving the first two in the series (J. K. Rowling aside), I’m really excited for this. I’ve really only been waiting for it to come out in paperback, so if I hadn’t received it as a gift, I would be buying it myself now.img_0269
  3. The Lie by C. L. Taylorimg_0279
  4. The Missing by C. L. Taylorimg_0281
  5. The Accident by C. L. Taylor – All three of these books are separate thrillers by the same author. They caught my eye a while ago on Goodreads and I’m really excited to read them. The covers are quite Gillian Flynn-esque in their matching designs, and they’re described as psychological thrillers. They also look like the kind of books I could get through quite quickly. I might take one of them on holiday with me, but I’m still undecided about that.img_0283

On Saturday, I went shopping and just happened to stumble into Waterstones, completely against my will, of course! I already had a couple of books in mind, but the helpful shop assistant recommended two that were in the ‘buy one get one half price’ offer, which made my decision much easier. The books a went for are:

  1. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins – This is another book that I’ve been waiting to come out in paperback. I suppose I’m a little bit late to the party, and most people have already read it, but I’m just not a fan of reading hardbacks. Something about it making my arms ache when reading lying down, and it not looking pretty on my bookshelf afterwards.img_0273
  2. Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin – I’ve seen this advertised in train stations recently and thought it looked like my sort of thing. The Waterstones shop assistant had recently finished it himself, and assured me that it is very twisty and gritty. As it has been towards the bottom of my TBR list for a while, I decided to give it a go.img_0275
  3. Disclaimer  by Renee Knight – I’ve seen this one floating about Goodreads for a while, and I was surprised to find that I haven’t actually put it on my TBR shelf yet. Once again, this was a recommendation from the lovely shop assistant, who said he’d finished it in a day. That definitely sounded ideal for me, so I went for it.img_0277

Now, I have absolutely no idea what to read next. I still have When the Doves Disappeared, and The Bones of You to read, so I feel like I should read those next, but I also want to dive into one of my new books. I also have three Goodreads Giveaways under my bed, but I think I’ll save those for after my holiday. I’ve started only entering ones that I know I’ll be excited to read, but I’ve got to get these out of the way first. I also have a few ARC on my Kobo, but again, I think they can wait for another time.

I’ve spent the past few weeks not being very enthusiastic about my book selection, mainly because I don’t like buying anything in the run up to my birthday, just in case. But now I’m a bit overwhelmed with choice! I am also a bit conscious of the fact that I’ll be starting my masters degree in September and reading will likely become much slower and more limited, so I want to squeeze as much as I can in before then.

I’m also yet to compile my holiday reads, so I’ll be doing a post on that at some point this week. I normally read about three books in a week, and I like them to be quite varied in style and genre. I know I’m definitely taking Career of Evil, but I’ll come back to you when I’ve chosen the other two.

With regards to what I’m currently reading, I am about a third of the way through Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, and I’m enjoying it. It’s such an easy read, and I’m planning on just steaming through it this afternoon. I wouldn’t say I’m absolutely loving it, but to be honest, I struggle to say that about anything girly and romantic. I’ll report back when I’ve read more though.

 

2 thoughts on “Birthday Books

Leave a Reply

