The Harry Potter Book Tag

I was tagged by Juliet (Not Capulet) to participate in The Harry Potter Book Tag. I don’t quite understand the Harry Potter connection to the actual questions, but I love Harry Potter, so why not!?

Flagrate: A book that you found interesting that you would like to rewrite.img_0169

I’m going to stick to a book I’ve read recently, and go for something I wanted to like, but was actually pretty disappointed with. The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty should have been so good, but it fell short of the mark, mainly due to the annoying characters. If I were to rewrite this myself, I would make the characters more relatable, so that the reader actually feels something for them. The story itself is a good one, it is just let down by the bland and slightly annoying characters.

Alohomora: The first book in a series which got you hooked.Twilight (Twilight, #1)

There are so many I could use for this. I read a lot of young adult series as a teenager, so things like Twilight and Noughts and Crosses are ones that immediately spring to mind. Those three in particular are series’ that I read in a matter of days, completely hooked. I can remember sitting waiting eagerly for the postman to deliver my copy of New Moon and devouring it in a few hours. As embarassing as it might be now, I don’t think I’ve ever been so enthralled, obsessed and truly absorbed in a book as I was with Twilight. I don’t really read many book series now, although it is something I miss. I love the thrill of waiting for the next in the series to come out.

 

Accio: A book you wish you could have right now.

img_0171The book I’m most eagerly anticipating for this year is Clare Mackintosh’s I See You. I really loved her first novel, I Let You Go, and really can’t wait for her next thriller. There are a lot of psychological thrillers around at the moments, trying to cash in on the success of Gone Girl, but this really is up there as one of the best. Other than a few minor issues, it’s really difficult to believe that this is Mackintosh’s debut novel. That only makes me even more excited for I See You. Unfortunately, it’s not released in paperback until early 2017, so I’ll have to either wait, or suck it up and buy the hardback.

 

Avada Kedavra: A killer book.

img_0232

I’ve read so many thrillers this year that it’s hard to single one out. I’ll avoid I Let You Go, as I’ve just talked about it. Instead, I’ll go for my favourite Gillian Flynn novel, Sharp Objects, which I actually read last year. If you have read Gone Girl, you’ll definitely love this. In my opinion it’s better. Flynn’s debut novel showcases just how genius she is at writing characters. I couldn’t recommend this book more, except maybe not to the faint hearted. It’s very, very creepy.

 

 

Confundo: A book you find confusing.

img_0173It depends how you define ‘confusing’, and whether it is positive or negative. I’ll go for a positive confusion and say Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller. It isn’t confusing in the sense that I didn’t understand it, because I did. However, the story and prose are such that you never quite know what’s going on. It’s mainly left up to the reader to decide. The ending isn’t a shock, it’s more a disappointment because you really hoped it wouldn’t end as it did. You want to stay in Peggy’s world in the woods forever, forgetting reality and the unsettling undertone that is carried throughout the whole book.

 

Expecto Patronum: Your spirit animal book.

Winnie-the-PoohOh wow, this is a difficult one. I suppose I’ve got to go for my favourite childhood book, Winnie-the-Pooh by A. A. Milne. None of this Disney rubbish! Each chapter/story is so beautiful and funny, I cannot even put into words how much I love both the original book, and its sequel, The House at Pooh CornerMilne’s writing style is pretty much the style of the voice in my head. Embarrassingly old-fashioned, but witty enough to make myself laugh (although maybe not others!). I don’t know whether this really describes my ‘spirit animal’, but it’s a book I love more than any other.

 

Sectumsempra: A dark, twisted book.

img_0234Again, I’ve read too many of these recently, so it’s difficult to single one out. I’d like to use Our Endless Numbered Days again, because that is very dark and twisted, but instead, I’ll stick to a ‘modern classic’ and go with Gone GirlThis book is so twisted and sick and weird and creepy. It’s one that’s difficult to talk about without giving away the plot, but again, it has some brilliantly written characters, and fantastic plot twists.

 

 

 

Apparecium: A book that surprised you in a great way.

img_0205

I have to admit that this is a book that I wasn’t really looking forward to reading. I borrowed The Help by Kathryn Stockett from Juliet, on her assurance that it is great, but I’m just not really too interested in 1960s history. Wow, I was surprised. This book is brilliant. It deals with the really sensitive issue of race, and gives (as far as I am aware) a fairly realistic account of how it was to live in the south of the USA at this time. It would be easy to pass this off as being simply a novel of social commentary, and I don’t think the book’s cover helps. It looks like a ‘Call the Midwife’ type memoir, but it’s not at all. The story is brilliant.

 

One thought on “The Harry Potter Book Tag

Leave a Reply

