Holiday Reads

As you probably know from my previous posts, I’m going on holiday on Wednesday. I’ll be spending a whole week on the tiny Greek island of Halki, which has a population of about 300 people. There are no cars on the island; no noisy tourists; nothing to annoy me, or distract me from a week of uninterrupted exploring, relaxing and reading. Anyone who knows me, knows that Greece is one of my favourite places to go on holiday, mainly for the beautiful scenery and, more importantly, the food. I’m already dreaming of all the lamb, fresh seafood and gyros that I’m going to be eating. And Greek salad. And wine. The above picture and the feature picture were taken on our last Greek adventure to Zante, and although I’m expecting the sea to be just as beautiful, the holiday will be totally different. I’m so ready for a relaxing week away; I’ve been counting down the days since we booked it several weeks ago!

img_0269I suppose I should move away from the holiday itself, and focus more on the books I’ll be taking with me. I normally read around three books in a week, but I’ll be taking four, just in case. I also like to start the first book a day or two before we go. I find it difficult to read whilst flying, and I also find the first few chapters of a new book the most difficult to concentrate on, so it helps if I’m already into the book when I get on the plane. The first book I’m going to read is Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith. I read the first two books in the Coroman Strike detective series, The Cuckoo’s Calling and The Silkworm, last year – the latter while I was on holiday – and I’ve been eagerly awaiting the paperback release of Galbraith’s latest installment. Although I’m a massive J. K. Rowling fan, I really like to view these books as something completely separate. Basically, these books are great because they’re very well written mystery/crime novels, NOT because they were actually written by my favourite childhood author.

img_0226The second book was more tricky to decide. My original choice was The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins, but now I’m not sure. I’m only going to take one psychological thriller with me because I want to vary the genres, mainly to ensure I don’t get bored, as once I’m there, there’s no changing my mind! I made the original decision before I went out and bought lots of other psychological thrillers, and now I have a large selection to choose from. I almost think it might be better to take one that I’m not as bothered about, mainly because that means I’m forcing myself to read it, rather than putting it off for months. I’ve had The Bones of You by Debbie Howells under my bed since around February/March and I still haven’t gotten round to reading it, so there’s my choice. Honestly, I’m not really sure why I haven’t read it yet. Other things have just taken precedence and it just kept getting pushed to the bottom of the pile. The average rating on Goodreads is only 3.69, so perhaps that’s one reason I’ve been putting it off, however from the snippets of reviews I’ve read, it sounds like it’s quite fast-paced and has a strong opening, so that suits me. As long as I can dive straight into it, I won’t have a problem.

img_0305For my third book, I’d like something completely away from the thriller/crime/mystery genre. I love historical fiction, but have been neglecting it a bit lately, so I decided to choose something I’ve wanted to read for a long time. I actually feel a bit guilty for buying more books, because I already have so many, but I have an Amazon voucher that needs spending, so it couldn’t be helped. I’ve gone for The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah. It’s got really good reviews on Goodreads, and sounds exactly like my sort of thing. My only issue is that it is set in World War Two France, similar to All the Light We Cannot See. The story sounds completely different though, so I’m sure it’ll be fine. I’ve not read a book that I really, really love in a long time, and it’s usually historical fiction that gets me, so I’m quite hopeful for this one.

Finally, as long as it arrives in time, I will be taking my latest Goodreads Giveaways win, The Singles Game by Laura Weisberger. I’m not expecting much from this, other than for it to be a really light, easy read. I liked The Devil Wears Prada, so I’m sure I’ll mildly enjoy this too. I might not even get round to reading it, but it’ll be ideal for the plane home if I do. If it doesn’t arrive, then…erm…I’ll have to think of something else.

Overall, I just can’t wait for a week in the sun, and as much reading as I can possibly cram in. It’s been too long since I spent the whole day with a book in front of my face.

 

Leave a Reply

