Reader Confessions Tag

I found this tag on a post by Caitlin @ wordsandotherbeasts and thought it looked fun.

 

1. Have you ever damaged a book? 464164

Not through lack of care, although it depends on how you define ‘damaged’. There’s always that sinking feeling when you take a book out of your bag to discover the cover has bent back, followed by anxiously trying t flatten it back down again. The only book I can say was truly damaged, was my original copy of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I read it so many times that the cover fell off and half the pages fell out. I’ve since bought a new copy!

2. Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?

Absolutely not! Although I don’t borrow many books, the number one rule of borrowing is to return it in the condition you received it in. You should treat it with the care you would a library book.

3. How long does it take you to read a book?

This all depends on the circumstances, the type of book, and whether I’m enjoying it or not. If I’m on holiday, or have a completely free weekend, I can average around 250 pages a day – sometimes more if the book is really gripping. If I’m busy, or I’m not enjoying it very much, I struggle to read more than 50 pages a day. On average, I read a book a week – I’ve read 23 books so far this year, so that’s about right.

4. Books that you haven’t finished?

I was very guilty of this at school. I hated A Level English Lit, and didn’t do very well in it, mainly because I hated everything we were required to read. Enduring Love by Ian McEwan is an example that immediately springs to mind. Reading like this, rather than simply for pleasure really put me off picking up a new book for quite a while. I like to read what I’m in the mood for, not what someone forces under my nose.

I’m also terrible for classic novels. I’ve tried Pride and Prejudice, Withering Heights and The Great Gatsby, among others, but I just can’t get into them. I feel like such a fraud as a book lover for only really reading modern books, but they’re simply not for me.

5. Hyped/Popular books that you don’t like?

There are so many, I can’t list them all. I have never understood the hype around John Green. I absolutely hated The Fault in Our Stars; it was gimmicky, predictable and annoying. Looking for Alaska wasn’t much better, but at least I didn’t hate it, and I never got past the second chapter of Paper Towns before I wanted to throw it across the room. He just writes the same unbelievable ‘cool’, mysterious and quirky characters in every book, with the same ‘I know how young people speak’ language that is so irritating. He simply uses different names and circumstances, sticking a different philosophical title on the front. Maybe I’m past young adult fiction, as I probably would’ve loved these books six or seven years ago, but I really do not get it.

11870085     lookingforalaskaUK.indd    6280118

Another book I thought was so overrated is One Day by David Nicholls. I really don’t get what all the fuss is about. It was fine, with a light, easy-to-read story, but it was no masterpiece. The characters were annoying and the ending possibly the most ridiculous ending to a book I’ve ever read.

6. Is there a book you wouldn’t tell anyone you were reading?

No, I don’t think so. Why bother reading a book if you’re going to be embarrassed about it?

7. How many books do you own?

Too many to fit on my bookshelf. I have piles and piles of them under my bed, with nowhere else for them to go. My dream is to have a house with a dedicated library, or just a room large enough to have huge wall to wall bookshelves.

8. Are you a fast reader or a slow reader?

I think I’m a fairly fast reader in terms of actual pace, although I’m definitely not the kind of person who can read more than a book a week. I tend to read about a page and a half per minute. I’m not sure whether that equates to fast or slow. See question 3 for more details!

9. Do you like to buddy read?

I don’t really know what this means. I usually swap books with both Juliet and my mum, but we’ve never read anything at the same time. I like to read things at my own pace. For this reason, I think I’d struggle in any sort of book club. I like the idea of it, as I do enjoy the community aspect of reading, with book bloggers and Goodreads, but I don’t like to be told to read something if I’m not in the mood for it.

10. Do you read better in your head or out loud?

Definitely in my head. I do a lot of reading on trains, to and from visiting my boyfriend in London, so reading aloud would just be weird. I do sometimes mutter, or mouth it to myself if I’m really, really into a passage.

11. If you were only allowed to own one book, what would it be and why?

I’d have to say my copy of Winnie the Pooh. It really is my all time favourite book and has meant so much to me both as a child and an adult. If anyone out there has never read the original Winnie the Pooh book, along with its sequel The House at Pooh Corner, I absolutely implore you to, regardless of your age. The stories are just truly magical, hilariously funny and touchingly beautiful. I can’t stand the Disney version because it really fails to capture what is so special about these stories.

675925

I won’t tag anyone in particular, but feel free to steal this from me, and let me know. I’d love to read everyone else’s answers.

6 thoughts on “Reader Confessions Tag

Leave a Reply

