WWW Wednesday – 20th July 2016

Welcome to this week’s WWW Wednesday post, a meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. Please go and have a look at everyone else is reading and make sure you post your own WWW in the comments so I can have a look.

IMG_1384-0

The premise of the post is quite simple – answer the three Ws:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?


What are you currently reading?

I have just started Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty. I’m about 100 pages in and I’m reserving judgement. I really didn’t like The Husband’s Secret because of the characters, and unfortunately, the characters in Big Little Lies are pretty much the same – middle class, beautiful, perfect, 40-something women. I’m hoping the story redeems this for me. Luckily, it’s a really easy read, so it shouldn’t take me long to get through. Not that I’m not enjoying it, it’s just annoying me a bit.

Processed with MOLDIV


What did you recently finish reading?

I have just finished The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins (review coming soon). It was a good, solid thriller, but did leave me wanting slightly. It took me a whole week to finish, mainly because I wasn’t as gripped as I perhaps should have been. I do struggle with over-hyped books in general and it takes something special to really wow me. This just didn’t quite hit the mark.

img_0273


What do you think you’ll read next?

I’ll see how I feel after Big Little Lies, but I have a feeling I’ll read A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness next. It’s not my usual sort of read, but it was lent to me by Juliet, who assured me it is very good and very quick, so that might be something I race through over the weekend. After that, I think I might be in the mood for something historical. I’ve had The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah for a while, and keep putting it off, but I think now might be the time to give it a go. This time last year, all I read was historical fiction and I really want to get back into it.


What have you been reading this week?

14 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 20th July 2016

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    A Monster Calls is absolutely brilliant. It’s short, but perfectly formed! I really hope you like it.

    I didn’t love The Husband’s Secret either. I didn’t dislike it, but I didn’t think the secret was that difficult to guess and not having a bit “gasp” reveal spoiled things a bit for me.

    Thanks for visiting my WWW post (https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/07/20/www-wednesday-20th-july-2016/) and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emily Witt says:

    I loved A Monster Calls, but then, it is pretty much exactly my type of book. Patrick Ness is one of my favourite authors. I hope you do enjoy it!

    I have Girl on a Train on my TBR, but like you, I worry about reading a book so heavily hyped.

    Here’s my WWW post

    Like

  3. Diana says:

    Oh I am sorry that you didn’t like The Girl on the Train much. I read it as part of my book-club monthly book and I am one of the people who really like it. I connected with Rachel despite her flaws lol. I get what you mean about over-hype books. I have had some similar experiences and I always have a hard time reviewing such books. Enjoy your next reads.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sam says:

    Sounds like ‘The Girl on the Train’ was perfectly OK which I think is the most we can hope for in over-hyped books. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. alilovesbooks says:

    Yay to A Monster Calls. I picked it up late one night meaning to read a couple of chapter to help me sleep and ended up staying up till 1am to finish it as I just couldn’t stop reading. It’s an incredible book so I hope you like as much as I did.

    Like

  6. Yvo says:

    I can definitely understand what you mean with The Girl In The Train; I personally didn’t think it was worth the hype either. The Nightingale is an excellent read though! I hope you will enjoy it.

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. charliegirlteachergirl says:

    This copy of The Nightingale is the third I’ve seen and absolutely the best of the bunch! It gives slightly more of the storyline away. I also try to avoid hype (and hyped books) because I often feel they are over-hyped. It feels that so man are…sensationalized, if that’s the right word. I hope Big Little Lies picks up for you. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

