WWW Wednesday – 24th August 2016

Welcome to this week’s WWW Wednesday post, a meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. Please go and have a look at everyone else is reading and make sure you post your own WWW in the comments so I can have a look.

IMG_1384-0

The premise of the post is quite simple – answer the three Ws:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

I have just started reading The Girls by Lisa Jewell. I absolutely adored The House We Grew Up In, so I was really excited to read more Lisa Jewell. I’ve only read the first chapter so far, but already I’m hooked. I love her writing style, it’s so simple and understated; never trying to show off or be quirky, she simply tells the story. I have a feeling I’m going to race through quite a bit of it tonight, while I enjoy the last of the sunshine. Processed with MOLDIV


What did you recently finish reading?

I have just finished reading The Sister by Louise Jensen. Despite it taking me nearly two weeks to get through (mostly due to me being distracted by the Olympics), I really enjoyed it. I could have easily finished it in a weekend, had I had the time. It did start off a little bit slow, but the pace really picked up around the halfway mark and I was gripped from there. Look out for my review on Friday!

img_0775

 


What do you think you’ll read next?

After spending so long on the last two books I read, I’m determined to squeeze in two books over the next week. I don’t have any plans or distractions, and I’m definitely actually going to read After You by Jojo Moyes this time. This, and The Girls, seem like reasonably quick reads, so hopefully I’ll have them both finished and will have started my next book by then, which will probably be The Lie by C. L. Taylor, While My Eyes Were Closed by Linda Green or Disclaimer by Renee Knight – the three thrillers I’ve got left on my TBR pile. I have around four weeks left before I start my masters and I want try to finish my TBR pile by then, so I can maybe treat myself to a couple of new books to round off the year, if I’m not too busy.

 


What have you been reading this week?

19 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 24th August 2016

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    I should have finished The Sister by Friday so will be able to enjoy your review without worrying about spoilers 🙂
    I’ll be interested to see what you make of Disclaimer. I didn’t enjoy it all that much, mainly because I didn’t get on with the characters at all 😦 But then I know I’m in the minority – most people love it!

    Thanks for visiting my WWW (https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/08/24/www-wednesday-24th-august-2016/) and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah says:

    I’m currently reading the Forevermore series. I have to say I’m a sucker for tragic love stories and a lot of magic so it’s a nice break from the crime novels I’ve been reading mostly! Just finished the 3rd and am almost finished with the 4th. After that I’ll move on to the rest of the series and then… who knows! I’m hoping I don’t end up in another reading slump after these ones.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

