Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books I Read at School

I see this meme floating around all the time, but I’ve never actually given it a go before now. Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s theme is ‘Back to School Freebie’, so I’m going to list ten books that I read during my school years and loved.


The Noughts and Crosses Series by Malorie Blackman

881512   300044   300045

A brilliant set of YA books dealing with the issue of racism by flipping it on its head. I unfortunately never got round to reading the fourth book in the series, Double Cross. I’m not sure why, maybe I’d grown out of them slightly when it came out. I’m definitely tempted to get myself a copy now though.


The Maximum Ride Series (Books 1-3)

828627  552892  2752930

There is actually nine books in this series, and I’ve read four and five, but from book four onward, James Patterson got a ghost writer and they were terrible. The first three, however, are great. About a group of kids who grew up in a lab, and have been implanted with bird’s wings. The story begins after they have escaped the lab and are on the run.


The Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer

41865490414282631162543

I can’t do a post about the books I loved as a teenager and not mention Twilight. By the time I got to Breaking Dawn, I realised how awful they are, but I don’t think I’ve ever been more excited about a book than I was with the first book, and New Moon to a similar extent. I liked Eclipse less, and then Breaking Dawn was just ridiculous.


Wicked by Gregory Maguire

824444   1752611

I had a period in my teens where I saw Wicked the Musical far too many time to be considered healthy. I was absolutely obsessed, so naturally I decided to read the book that inspired the musical. It was weird. Really weird, and really slow, and pretty boring. I managed to get through to the end and gave the sequel a go, but gave up after a few chapters.


The Diary of a Chav Series by Grace Dent

3224465   1894997   2359944

I borrowed these from a friend and thought they were great. Really funny tales of a ‘chavvy’ teenager and her ‘chavvy’ family. Really taking the stereotype that seemed so popular at the time and exaggerating it into these ridiculous stories. I believe there’s another three books in the series, but I only ever read the first three.


A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens5328

If we’re taking about books that I actually read at school, for school, A Christmas Carol is one that stands out. It’s the first and only Dickens novel I’ve read, but I really enjoyed it. It helped that I already vaguely knew the story and the Muppets version happens to be one of my favourite childhood films, but I adore Dickens’ writing style. It makes me wonder why I’ve never bothered reading any more of his works, but I’m not a massive lover of the classics.

 


6522978The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

I think this was possibly the first ‘adult’ book I ever read. I was about 15 when the film came out, and I found the book lying around the house and decided to give it a go. Despite its very harrowing and controversial subject matter, I thought this book was incredible. It’s difficult to talk about a book like this, because it feels wrong to use positive superlatives. I know there are a lot of people who don’t like this book, and I can understand why, but if you haven’t read it, please do.

 


Anything and everything by Judy Blume

37735   37419   2605487

I like to consider Judy Blume as being the American version of Jacqueline Wilson, but written a decade earlier, and aimed at a slightly older audience. Although I did read a lot of Jacqueline Wilson growing up, Judy Blume pretty much was my preteen years. I think I’ve read all, or at least most, of her books. Going through them now makes me want to go back to that age so I can read them all again.


285943Holes by Louis Sachar

This is another stand out that we read as a class. I found that a lot of books chosen by teachers for everyone to read ended up not being very good, but I loved this one. It’s just such an exciting story. The film is also pretty good.

 

 

 


186521Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

Anybody who has sat a GCSE English exam will know why I simply can’t leave this out of a list of books I read at school. Of Mice and Men was absolutely hammered into our brains, and as much as I resented it at the time, in hindsight I realise what I wonderful book this really is. I’d love to read it again.

 

 


So that’s ten. I’ve probably gone into far too much detail, and I doubt I’ll write this much every week, but I hope you enjoyed my first Top Ten Tuesday. Feel free to leave links to yours in the comments so I can have a look.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books I Read at School

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Are You There, God? is one of my favourite teen reads ever — I remember it being told in a very refreshing, very realistic teen voice that not all authors get right. 😛

    I also read Twilight and liked it as a teen, though now that I’m older I’ve definitely outgrown my like for those books. Breaking Dawn was bad now AND already bad then, though.

    Here’s my TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads says:

    Noughts and Crosses sounds like a really interesting series. I love dystopians, so I’m going to have to add those to my TBR. 🙂
    I read Holes and Twilight when I was in 7th or 8th grade (I think) and loved both at the time. Holes will always have a place in my heart. I actually read quite a few of Louis Sachar’s books and loved them all.
    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. paperjasmine says:

    Awesome picks. I love Holes. That almost went on my own TT! I haven’t read any of the others, but The Lovely Bones has been on my tbr for ages and I only recently heard about the Noughts and Crosses series lol so plan to read that . Great post 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

