Monthly Round Up – August

It’s probably not been the most productive month of reading, but I have read one pretty long and slow book, and then I was distracted by the Olympics for a fortnight, so I think I can be forgiven! I’ve managed to read three books this month:

  1. I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak
  2. The Sister by Louise Jensen
  3. The Girls by Lisa Jewell (review coming soon)

Despite me not reading many books this month, I have really enjoyed all three that I did read, rating them 10/10, 8/10 and 8/10 respectively, so in that sense, it’s been quite successful.

I also fulfilled my goal of getting through one of my ARC. I have two more to get through this month, which should be easier now that I officially work part-time as of Monday! (yay) This is all in preparation for the start of my masters degree at the end of the month, but I’ve got a couple of weeks to relax a bit before the stress really kicks in. I don’t have many plans, so I’m hoping to fill my days with as many books as possible.

I plan to read:

  1. Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult
  2. Local Girl Missing by Claire Douglas
  3. The Lie by C. L. Taylor
  4. While My Eyes Were Closed by Linda Green
  5. Disclaimer by Renee Knight
  6. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
  7. We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

I’m also halfway through After You by Jojo Moyes.

I’ve pretty much just listed my entire TBR list of books I actually have copies of. I really doubt I’ll get through all of them this month, but I’ll try my best. I have absolutely no plans for the next five days, so I should be able to get through at least two of them. I’ll definitely finish After You, and then I’ll probably read The Lie. C. L. Taylor’s other two thrillers were really quick reads, so this shouldn’t take me long.


Moving away from reading and onto my blog itself, I’ve had the most successful month ever in terms of views and likes, and I’m so close to 100 followers. I don’t write for views, more to get all my thoughts out of my head, but it’s nice to know people are actually reading my posts, so thank you for that!

I’m also really enjoying keeping up with WWW Wednesday, and finding out what the rest of the book blogger community is reading. I’ve also had a go at Top Ten Tuesday, and although I’m not sure I’ll do it every week, it was fun.

I’ve pretty much written off my bookstagram – that didn’t last long really. I’m just not very creative and don’t have a better camera than the one on my phone, so I’m a bit limited. I’ll probably still post occasionally, but I’m not making much of an effort anymore.


Overall, hopefully September will be a much more productive month. I’m hoping I might be able to extend my Goodreads Reading Challenge from 35 to 40 books (I’m on 31 at the moment), but we’ll see how this week goes first!

What have you been reading this month?

One thought on “Monthly Round Up – August

Leave a Reply

