The Sunshine Blogger Award

First of all, thank you to Caitlin @ Words and Other Beasts for nominating me, how exciting! I’m now going to try ad answer some pretty tough questions. All book covers taken for Goodreads.


Who are your three favourite protagonists?

4327066I always thought I preferred female protagonists, but thinking about my answer for this question, I’ve ended up picking three male characters. I’ve never really think about having favourites, but if I had to choose three, in no particular order, I’d go for:

Charlie from The Perks of Being a Wallflower. This whole book is just special. It’s not my favourite book by a long stretch, and I only gave it 4 stars, but there is something just subtly real and raw about both the story and Charlie. He’s wonderful and honest, and sort of reminds me of myself in his intorvertedness.19057

The second protagonist is Ed for I am the Messenger, which I’ve just finished reading (review here!). He is just such a nice person with a wonderful kind heart. But not in an overbearing way. Throughout the book, he is shown that he has the power to make a difference to other peoples lives, not by being anything special, just by being kind.

I’m struggling to think of a third. I’m not usually too drawn to particular characters, so I’ll leave it at these two.


 What’s your favourite book cover?

2623062523478650

I couldn’t pick between Our Endless Numbered Days and All the Light We Cannot See. They don’t come across as well on pictures as they do in real life, but Our Endless Number Days is shiny silver, with the border and lettering all embossed. All the Light We Cannot See is made of a strange matte card type material, that actually sparkles in the light. They’re both beautiful.


Half Blood PrinceIs there an antagonist you’ve ever sympathised with? Or even liked more than the protagonist?

This is a tough one. I suppose I could say Draco Malfoy, and perhaps the entire Malfoy family in the Harry Potter series, particularly in Half Blood Prince onwards. Although he isn’t a ‘good’ person, and I’m not sure he ever will be, you can’t help but sympathise with him during his quest to kill Dumbledore. He proves that he and his family aren’t quite as evil as they’d like to think themselves to be, and they are actual humans, with the ability to love.


Do you write books as well as read them?

I’ve always liked the idea of writing books, but I’m just not creative enough. I used to try to write short stories when I was younger but could never really get past the first page. I don’t have the patience for planning, or the ideas to start the planning process. I much prefer academic writing, where I know exactly what I need to say.


Hunger Games

Do you prefer Sci-Fi or Fantasy? Or do you not like either?

I tend to stay well away from both genres. I adore Harry Potter, but I feel like I’ve only got the space in my head for one fantasy world! I suppose you could sort of slot The Hunger Games somewhere in between the two categories, but despite being dystopian and futuristic, it doesn’t contain anything unrealistic. Everything that the world has become could actually happen, and I think that was one of the reasons I liked it so much.


Do you like books being adapted for film/TV, or do you hate it?

Room

We all know that film versions are never as good as the books, and I always resent people slightly who have only seen the film. I invested several days into a 500 page novel, and you invested 2 hours into the film version film. You don’t know how good this story actually is. Maybe that’s petty, but I just don’t get why people would want to read the book! If there’s a film coming out that looks good but I know it’s been adapted from a book, I’ll always try to read the book first.

I also find that watching the film ruins the image I have in my head of certain places. For example, when I read Room, I had a very vivid image of what Room looked like, and it was completely different in the film. I still enjoyed the film, but as usual, it just wasn’t as good.


Do you prefer paperbacks or hardbacks?

I’d love to only read hardbacks, but I just can’t afford it. I now only read paperbacks (unless it’s a book I’ve borrowed), simply because they’re much cheaper, and they all look nice and uniform on my bookshelf. There have been a few new releases recently that I’ve considered buying in hardback, but I just can’t justify the £12.99 price tag. That being said, I did buy a hardback copy of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, but that does match all the rest of my Harry Potter books, which are hardback too.


If you could compete in any Olympic sport, which one would you choose?

I’m not a very sporty person at all, and being the lazy person I am, I can never understand how people actually run marathons or ride bikes up mountains for fun.  I’d rather do something like gymnastics or trampolining. I did trampolining when I was younger, but was never any good. It’s amazing to see what people can do with their bodies.


If you could be friends with any character (book, film or TV) who would you pick?

This is a difficult one. I read a lot of thrillers, where the characters are either really flawed, or murderers. I’d probably have to go with someone from Harry Potter, simply because I can’t think of anything else.


THe Light Between Oceans

Is there a book or series you think is underappreciated?

The one book that is in my Top Ten Books that I don’t really hear much about is The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman. It’s such a beautiful, heartbreaking story in a stunning setting. I believe it’s being made into a film, and I can see it working well. I just wish that M. L. Stedman would hurry up and write another book!

 


If you could be a superhero, what powers would you have?

I’d love to be invisible. Too often I have days where I just don’t want anyone to bother me. In a similar vain, I’d love to be in two places at once, so I can go to work, but also stay in bed at the same time!


 

I’m not very good at coming up with questions, so I’m just going to tag anyone who wants to do this, and I hope that Caitlin @ Words and Other Beasts won’t mind me stealing her questions!

 

One thought on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. mreadsbooks says:

    Great answers, I agree with you on a lot of things there. Great book choices as well. Both The Light Between Oceans and All The Light We Cannot See have been sitting on my tbr for quite some time – I really have to get around to reading them! I’ve also read Room, but I haven’t watched the movie yet. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

