Monthly Round Up – September

Can you remember in my August Round Up when I said I was going to read more books than ever and absolutely smash my TBR? Yeah, that didn’t happen. I wouldn’t exactly say it’s been a slow month, but I’ve slowed down a lot myself. I’ve decided that from now on, it doesn’t matter how long it takes me to finish a book, as long as I’m enjoying it. I’ve read two and a half books this month, the first two being within the first half of the month, so fairly average speed reading. The book I’m reading at the moment is historical fiction, which I always like to take my time on.

  1. After You by Jojo Moyes
  2. While My Eyes Were Closed by Linda Green
  3. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

I have no idea how long The Nightingale is going to take me to finish, but I’m loving it so far, so I don’t really mind. It’s also probably going to end up being the longest book I’ve read this year. Not for the number of pages alone, being around 460, but the really small text makes it so much longer. I’m only managing 20 pages max. per night, whereas I can normally manage around 50.Β img_0305

I’m not worried though. I’m so close to completing my Goodreads 2016 Reading Challenge, with 33 out of 35 books read, so there’ll be no issues with getting that done, and most likely exceeding it before the end of the year. I’ve put my ARC aside for now, mainly because I’ve spent so long reading The Nightingale that they’ve all but expired (I’m terrible, I know!). I’m mainly going to focus on completing the physical TBR pile that I have under my bed. I have six books on it, so I’ll be very happy if I get all those read this year.

I think it goes without saying, that my blog activity is going to drop off a bit now. I started my masters last week and already I have a mountain of work to do, so both reading a blogging will be reduced to a minimum. I have got certain things scheduled, for example my Top Ten Tuesdays are written until mid-November, so I should be able to keep on top of those. My WWW Wednesdays will be less frequent, simply because I haven’t got much to say. I’ve already missed two weeks of them!

I have had the best blog month ever though, which is exciting. I also reached the milestone of 100 followers, so thank you for all of you who actually take the time to read what I’ve written!

With regards to what I’ll be reading next, if my ARC hasn’t expired, I’ll go for Local Girl Missing by Claire Douglas, as I do really want to read it. I’ll probably end up buy a copy if I don’t read it next anyway! Following that, I’ll most likely go for The Reader on the 6:27 byΒ Jean-Paul Didierlaurent, and then another thriller. See my latest Top Ten Tuesday for my full TBR!

What have you read this month?

5 thoughts on “Monthly Round Up – September

  1. Jennie Ensor says:

    Good luck with your studies Cait, and I hope there’s still time to do a bit of bedtime reading πŸ™‚ I never understand these Reading Challenges – to me it’s not how many books one reads that’s important but what one gets from each one… maybe I’m just old-fashioned!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Diana says:

    Do you also read your books on Aldiko?My eARCs usually expire 54 days after download but I have never found anyone else who gets that until I saw you mention it here. Enjoy all your books next month and a slow pace is okay when the book is as good as Nightingale sounds

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

