Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Characters I’d Name A Child/Dog/Cat/Car/Etc. After

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s theme is  Ten Characters I’d Name A Child/Dog/Cat/Car/Etc. After. I’m not a massive lover of characters as such. I rarely have favourite characters, or characters I fall in love with. I know I’m going to struggle to come up with ten! Most of these aren’t characters I like, simply names.

Ariana Dumbledore

Such a pretty name. I’m not sure I’d actually name a child this, but I’d admire someone more daring than I if they did so.

Daria/Dasha

I love the Russian tradition of having nicknames that aren’t just shortened versions of the full name. Dasha is from The Bronze Horseman by Paulina Simons, and while the character is quite annoying, I love her name. I’d love to name a child this, but I feel like people would forever be asking about my Russian connections, of which I have none!

Edward Bear

When I (finally) get the dog I’ve been waiting my entire life for, it will be a cockapoo or golden doodle or something beautiful and curly, and I will name him Edward Bear after Winnie-the-Pooh. I will call him Eddie for short and we will be the happiest pair there ever has been.


That is literally it. I don’t really like the idea of naming someone after someone else. I hate when parents name their children after themselves; there’s something arrogant and possessive about it. I’d rather the child be an individual. I look forward to seeing what everyone else comes up with though!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Characters I’d Name A Child/Dog/Cat/Car/Etc. After

  1. 4thhouseontheleft says:

    I love the name Ariana! I am also not a fan of naming a kid after a parent (which I usually on see with boys, as a XXX, Jr. ). I do like the idea of using the name of someone who I have admired and respected in life for a child’s name. That is kind of what we did with our daughter.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

