Monthly Round Up – October

So October has been my first month as a masters student and as you’ll guess if you’ve been paying attention, I haven’t had much time for reading or blogging. In fact the only posts that have gone out are my pre-scheduled Top Ten Tuesdays. This month has been busier than I could’ve imagined, but I’m enjoying my course and getting back into studying again. 

I’ve managed to finish The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah, and read an ARC that’s been sat on my Kobo for too long, Local Girl Missing by Claire Douglas. I’m cheating a little bit as I finished that tonight (2nd November), but I’m going to count it anyway. Review coming soon (when I have time!).


One good bookish thing about this month is that I’ve finally completed my Goodreads 2016 Reading Challenge of reading 35 books. I was really hoping for 40, but considering how long Local Girl Missing took me, and with only two months left, I don’t think I’ll make it. 

I’m obviously reading much slower now, but I’m enjoying it. I’m taking my time and not rushing to get things finished like I did have a tendency to do. I’ve got back into reading every night before bed, which is a nice way to switch off after a long day with my head in research books. Over the past year, reading has become slightly more than just a hobby, simply because I haven’t had anything else to focus my mind on, but now I’m feeling much more casual and relaxed about it. I’m not worrying about reading a book a week so that I fulfil my goal of paying a review a week on my blog. 

Unfortunately, my blog is something I’ve had to put to one side, although I’m certainly not giving up on it altogether. I’m really proud of what I e managed to build up over the past few months, and although I don’t have masses of followers, or views for that matter, I never even expected anyone to read it. I love being part of the book blogger community, and that’s not something I’m going to leave behind, I’m just going to be playing more of a background role for the foreseeable. 

I’m about to start The Reader on the 6:27 by Jean-Paul Didierlaurent. I’m looking forward to reading something different and uplifting, as I’ve heard this is!


Happy November!

Leave a Reply

