Review – The Lie by C. L. Taylor

img_0279

Title: The Lie

Author: C. L. Taylor

Publisher: Avon

Release Date: April 2015

Genre: Thriller

My Rating: 8/10 Solid

 


Synopsis

This was no accident…

Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter.

I know your name’s not really Jane Hughes . . .

Jane Hughes has a loving partner, a job in an animal sanctuary and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She’s happier than she’s ever been but her life is a lie. Jane Hughes does not really exist.

Five years earlier Jane and her then best friends went on holiday but what should have been the trip of a lifetime rapidly descended into a nightmare that claimed the lives of two of the women.

Jane has tried to put the past behind her but someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed Jane and everything she loves . . .


Thoughts

I now don’t know where I stand with C. L. Taylor. I wasn’t a massive fan of her most recent book, The Missing, which was the first of her books that I read. I did however, receive all three thrillers as a birthday gift, so I decided to give her another go with her first novel, The Accident, which I preferred. Her second novel, The Lie, was even better.

The premise is a travelling holiday to the Nepalese mountains that goes horribly wrong. The dual time periods set up an eery atmosphere that thickens as the chapters progress. From the beginning, we know something is not quite right, and that draws the reader in. Although the twist isn’t a ‘smack in the face’ sort, it does slowly seep out in a way that makes the setting and characters increasingly creepy. The characters manage to be unlikable, yet compelling, which is one of the key things I enjoy in a thriller.

It was recently announced that there are plans to make this book into a TV series, and I can see that working really well. The suspense and pace would lend itself well to an episodic adaptation to screen, rather than a short movie.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book, and I’m really looking forward to C. L. Taylor’s next offering.



Goodreads
| Waterstones | Amazon

Advertisements

One thought on “Review – The Lie by C. L. Taylor

  1. Diana says:

    I recently read The Escape by the author. I think its her newest book. This sounds interesting and I think I also need to read The Accident. Great review. I will look out for this book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s