WWW Wednesday -13th July 2016

Welcome to this week’s WWW Wednesday post, a meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. Please go and have a look at everyone else is reading.

IMG_1384-0

The premise of the post is quite simple – answer the three Ws:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?


What are you currently reading?

This week has been a really bad reading week, but one thing I have stuck to from last week’s post is reading The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. I’m enjoying it so far, although I’m about a third of the way through. There’s enough mystery and intrigue to keep me reading, and to keep me turning the pages.

img_0273

I’m not absolutely loving it, but I don’t think I’m supposed to yet. I’m waiting for something to hit me. If anything, my one criticism is that the two characters of the dual narrative are too similar. I keep forgetting who I’m reading. Maybe that’s on purpose? We’ll find out.


 What did you recently finish reading?

This is where you all give me a disappointed, disapproving look and quietly ask me to leave. I abandoned my ARC of Everything Love Is by Claire King. I feel so guilty, but I just couldn’t do it. I got 70 pages in over the course of nearly a week and still didn’t have a clue what was going on. Not in a suspenseful way, in an actual confusing way. I didn’t know any who/what/when/where throughout and I really struggled to focus because of that.

27779339

It’s such a shame because the prose is beautiful and that is the main reason I got as far as I did. I really considered giving up 30-40 pages in, but forced myself to carry on. It just got to the point where I was forcing myself to read and not enjoying it. I read for pleasure. It’s not a profession and life is too short to spend time reading something I’m not happy with. That being said, I have read quite a few really glowing reviews on Goodreads, so don’t let me put you off giving this one a go.


What do you think you’ll read next?

I like to alternate thrillers with other genres, so I’ll probably read something completely different next. Although, I’m still in a frame of mind where I need something quite easy. I don’t think I’m quite ready to focus on something really heavy at the moment. My three options, depending on how I feel, are The Girls by Lisa Jewell, Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty, and After You by Jojo Moyes.

Big Little Lies has been sat on my bookshelf for the longest, so I’ll probably go for that next,however I am a little apprehensive. I didn’t like The Husband’s Secret by the same author, despite its rave reviews, but thought I’d give her another chance. This one has even better reviews on Goodreads, and I have no idea what to expect. My main issue with The Husband’s Secret was that it was described as a thriller, but didn’t thrill me in any way. I suppose going into Big Little Lies with lower expectations is a good thing.


Like I said, overall it’s been a really bad reading week, but last week was good so I suppose it all balances out. I’m still 7 books ahead of schedule on my Reading Challenge, even though I’ve just raised it to 35 books. If I’m going to complete the majority of my challenge before I start my masters in September, I’m right on track. I have 10 books to read in 10 weeks. I’m also hoping I can still squeeze in a bit of reading after September, it’s just going to be a lot slower than normal.

What have you been reading this week? Make sure you post a link to your WWW Wednesday in the comments!

Also, what do you think of my new blog theme?

19 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday -13th July 2016

  1. jessreadingnook says:

    I’m sorry you’re having a bad reading week. I read The Girl on the Train awhile ago, and I liked it well enough, but it isn’t my favorite thriller by any means. I look forward to your thoughts when you finish it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. laurelrainsnow says:

    I actually enjoyed The Girl on the Train…and while The Husband’s Secret wasn’t my favorite book by the author, I did go on to absolutely LOVE Big Little Lies and The Girls (in the Garden).

    I haven’t yet read After You, but I think I should. It’s been a long while since I read Me Before You, but I refreshed my memory by reading my review….so. Yes, it will join my other books soon. Here’s MY WWW POST

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bathtime Reads says:

      That sounds promising, I’m looking forward to Big Little Lies more now! I only read Me Before You a few weeks ago, so it’s still quite fresh in my mind, and I loved it so much more than I expected to!

      Thanks for visiting my WWW 🙂

      Like

    • Bathtime Reads says:

      So far it’s not comparing with Gone Girl in terms of content, and I haven’t had any twists yet as I’m only halfway through, but I’m enjoying it as much as a was enjoying Gone Girl at the halfway point.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. alilovesbooks says:

    I’d highly recommend After You. It gets a bit of criticism for not being as good as Me Before You (which it’s not) but if you go into it without overly high expectations it’s a fantastic read.

    Unpopular opinion time, I really didn’t like Girl on the Train. I think this was because I didn’t like any of the characters so didn’t really care. There seems to be an increasing trend which I’m not overly keen on to have unlikeable or unreliable narrators. For me to enjoy a story I have to like the characters.

    Like

  4. Juliet | Not Capulet says:

    The Girl On The Train gets better and better until right at the end where it plummeted quite dramatically for me. I’ve been waiting for you to read it for ages, because I know you’ll feel the same and we can bitch about it together.

    Alsoooo I knew I’d seen the name Liane Moriarty somewhere. I’ve just been awarded an ARC of her next book on NetGalley!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment